Macro Express Forums

Mouse Move Math

I tried searching for "Mouse Move" but can't find a thing, so sorry if this is an oft-requested issue.

I am trying to move my cursor from one end of screen to another, on the same X-Axis.

However, I can't understand the logic behind this function.

I set X and Y integer variables from mouse position. Then I add a number to X axis integer with modify integer, then supply both results into the X and Y fields of Mouse Move.

However, the result varies depending on where the mouse is, ie-further away from top left screen, further the mouse moves. I even tried feeding the mouse move function with unedited mouse X/Y parameters... and it STILL moves somewhere else from where it was.

I'm not a beginner with this stuff. It just seems counter-intuitive the way this is playing out.

Thanks for any input!

That sounds strange. Perhaps your actual mouse is interfering. Or the mouse control software. Try turning your mouse of and disabling any mouse software like Logitech's SetPoint. Them maybe post a simple sample macro that produces the unexpected behavior and one of us can try it.

Variable Set Integer %DesktopWidth%: Set to the Desktop Width
Variable Set Integer %DesktopHeight%: Set to the Desktop Height
Variable Modify Integer: %DesktopHalfHeight% = %DesktopHeight% / 2
Text Box Display: Ready to move mouse pointer to left side of screen
Mouse Move: 0, %DesktopHalfHeight% Relative to Current Window
Text Box Display: Ready to move mouse pointer to right side of screen
Mouse Move: %DesktopWidth%, %DesktopHalfHeight% Relative to Current Window

<VARIABLE SET INTEGER Option="\x1D" Destination="%DesktopWidth%"/>
<VARIABLE SET INTEGER Option="\x1E" Destination="%DesktopHeight%"/>
<VARIABLE MODIFY INTEGER Option="\x03" Destination="%DesktopHalfHeight%" Value1="%DesktopHeight%" Value2="2"/>