Macro Express Forums

bulk replacement of delays?

et cetera

Hi, all,

Newbie here. I just made my first Macro Express macro, and it works. :) I set the time to playback at 4x the original speed, but it's still slower than I'd like and than I think it could be.

I'm wondering if there's a good, quick way to change all the delays in the script in one fell swoop (bulk replace). The delays range from ~1000ms to ~7500ms.

Maybe the only option would be to edit it in text editor and then re-import it after using some regular expression, but I'd like to avoid that, since I am not good with that stuff.

My thought was that I'd change all the delays to 500ms and see if it still works. If not, raise them up to, say, 1000, and try again until I get it as fast as I can.

Another thought is to just take all the delay commands out of the macro and see if it still works, but I rather doubt it would.

Any advice is welcome.

Eric

Edit: Macro Express 3.1b Build 1 (3.10.2.1) on a VirtualBox VM running Windows 10 Version 1511 (Build 10586.545).

Edited by et cetera

The 'Macro Playback Speed' has the effect of adjusting all the delays in your macro. Entering 0.1 in the 'Playback Factor:' has the effect of speeding up the macro by 10 times. All delays of 500ms run at 50ms.

You could do a bulk replace in the Direct Editor. Do this to change all 'Delay 10 Milliseconds' command to 'Delay 1 Milliseconds':

1. Click the Direct Editor button
  2. Click at the beginning of the macro
  3. Press Ctrl+R to bring up the Find/Replace dialog
  4. Enter <MSD:0010> in the 'Find what:' field
  5. Enter <MSD:0001> in the 'Replace with:' field
  6. Click the Replace All button

To remove all 10ms delays search for '<MSD:0010><' and replace it with '<'.

When I create a macro that I am going to use more that a few times I spend some time to optimize it. One thing that I do is to use variables for the delays.

Variable Set Decimal %D1% to 0.025
Variable Set Decimal %D2% to 0.1