Macro Express Forums

Transfer numbers from Excel column into web form

Mychance

Hi.  I have just got Macro Express bundled with another software so, I am very new to it.  I was wondering if the following task can be easily done with ME.

I have to transfer grade marks from Excel columns into a web form for report transcripts.  Unfortunately, the latter would not take copy and paste of the column beyond the first entry.  In order to get to the other entry box on the web form, apart from clicking with the mouse, I have to press the tab key 3 times on the keyboard.  I use several columns on several pages on Excel and I am wondering if would be possible to set up some macros that would do the job without taking me more time than doing it manually.

Thanks in advance.

I take it you regularly have to manually transfer hundreds (thousands?) of individual numbers from Excel into the web form??

It certainly sounds like something Macro Express can do, by automating the same keystrokes that you would use manually.  The macro(s) will be able to work much faster than you can.  But you have a learning curve to get this working.  I'd recommend you start very simply, just make a macro to copy one cell from Excel, Alt-Tab to the web form, paste the one number,  Alt-Tab back to Excel.  This can be done almost entirely with the Text Type command.  When you are comfortable with that, start expanding your macro -- to arrow down to the next Excel cell for example instead of doing it manually,  Keep expanding until you have something really useful -- though it sounds like the initial simple copy/switch window/paste/switch window may be helpful all by itself.  Set Properties of the macro so you can initiate it with a hot key combination.  Use the script editor to build your macro.  For example:

//  
// Copy from Excel cell where we are currently positioned (Ctrl-c)
Text Type: <CTRLD>c<CTRLU>
// Alt-Tab to web form
Text Type: <ALTD><TAB><ALTU>