Macro Express Forums

Suspend for Keypress Input Question

Hi,

Newbie here.  I'm trying to have a marco type this below text but have it stop to prompt for my input at each ___ and then continue to the next one.

Finished with ___ used vehicles vs ___ in ___ 2016 (___ units)

___ units between ___ days vs ___ units the prior month (___ )

Any ideas?  I have tried searching a number of things but may not be searching the correct phrase.

Thanks in advance.

Frank

Try "Variable Set String: Prompt" and "Variable Set Integer: Prompt" commands. Something like this may get you started:

Variable Set String %Used%: Prompt
Variable Set String %New%: Prompt
Variable Set Integer %iUnits%: Prompt
Text Type (Simulate Keystrokes): Finished with %Used% vehicles vs %New% in ___ 2016 (%Units%)
<VARIABLE SET STRING Option="\x01" Destination="%Used%" Prompt="Enter used vehicles" Mask="FALSE" OnTop="FALSE" Left="Center" Top="Center" Monitor="0"/>
<VARIABLE SET STRING Option="\x01" Destination="%New%" Prompt="Enter new vehicles" Mask="FALSE" OnTop="FALSE" Left="Center" Top="Center" Monitor="0"/>
<VARIABLE SET INTEGER Option="\x01" Destination="%iUnits%" Prompt="Enter number of units" Mask="FALSE" OnTop="FALSE" Left="Center" Top="Center" Monitor="0"/>
<TEXT TYPE Action="0" Text="Finished with %Used% vehicles vs %New% in ___ 2016 (%Units%)"/>

The first thing to determine is whether or not the macro is being activated. You can do this one of several ways.

1. Put a Text Box display at the top of your macro. It may say something like "The macro has started"
  2. Put a Sound File command at the top of your macro.
  3. Open the Macro Explorer. Click Options, Preferences, Playback and the Miscellaneous tab. Click to enable the "Play a sound when a macro runs" and choose a sound.

If your macro is not being activated choose a different activation. If you continue to have trouble tell us specifically what activation you are trying to use.