Macro Express Forums

End A Repeat - Loop

tibolt1

Hi. I've a macro that searches through documents, selected pieces of texts and transfers the extracts to a main Document. The macro needs to run usually between 40 -60 times, (it varies), to get to the end of the particular document being processed. Yes they're long documents, like 100 pages.

I've tried using a Repeat Until %T1% <> %T1% and a Repeat Start command which puts the macro into a loop. But how do I get the macro to stop dead when it gets to the bottom of the document being processed (because if it continues, it transfers blank entries which mess up the main document).

There's a Break command in the Macro - to covers a particular eventuality - but it doesn't stop the macro running in the loop - nor do I want it to.

How would you go about this?

From reading other posts, ye're experts but I'm a bit of a newbie to this - it's an excellent program though - so you might explain it as if I were a 10 year old!

Hope you can help. Thanks.

T.

Are you able to have your macro determine when it is time to stop? If so you can remove Repeat Until %T1% <> %T1% and add something like:

// Macro commands before the Repeat loop

Variable Set String %T1% ""
Repeat Until %T1% = "STOP_NOW"

// your macro commands go here

// Determine if it is time to stop. You will need to modify this command to suit your needs.
 If Variable %T2% = ""
   // Tell the repeat loop to stop
   Variable Set String %T1% "STOP_NOW"
 End If
Repeat End

// Macro commands after the Repeat loop

Perhaps a Repeat within a Repeat would solve your problem? The outer Repeat deals with documents or files, while the inner Repeat deals with the lines within a file. You'd then use the Break command to exit the inner loop when you've finished processing a file.

Kevin,

Thanks very much for your reply.

My macro works its way down through the document, doing its stuff. I want the macro to stop running when it gets to the end of the document.