Macro Express Forums

Vb To Db?

Cory

I have several macros for one client that rely on data in an Access Db. Since ME can’t directly access this they routinely export queries to text files. I know one can access a Db fairly easily with Visual Basic but I am not a programmer. I reckon if one knew VB and ME it would be feasible to create a link between worlds. Has anyone any experience with this? All comments welcome.

Unfortunately even if it were able to access it without opening Excel it wouldn't make any difference. The linked data in a spreadsheet can't be updated until the file is actually opened.

I'm curious, does Randall's routine require the file to be open or is it accessing it directly? If it does not maybe he could create an equivelant for Access.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Cory -

I'll bet this is what you're looking for:

A majority of our clients are using Macro Express to control VBScript scripts that use ADO to access Excel workbooks as databases without the need for launching Excel. Extracting data, writing data, and so forth. But none of them have any use for Access. I imagine that the steps required are almost identical with those of Excel.

So yes, you can use database techniques on Excel and Access. For that matter on text and CSV files, too! Hang on to your shorts, here's an example:

On Error Resume Next
Const adOpenStatic = 3
Const adLockOptimistic = 3
Const adCmdText = &H0001

Set objConnection = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
Set objRecordSet = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

objConnection.Open "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; Data Source=X:\Data\Addresses.xls;Extended Properties=""Excel 8.0;HDR=Yes;"";" 
objRecordset.Open "Select * FROM [Main$]", objConnection, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic, adCmdText

strSearchCriteria = "Name = 'Joe Weinpert'"
objRecordSet.Find strSearchCriteria
objRecordset("City") = "Cleveland"
objRecordset.Update
objRecordset.Close
objConnection.Close

The above code (let's call it "NameAddress.vbs") would: