Macro Express Forums

Universal Macros

MrBiggz

I'm new to using ME, and love it!! But have run into a snag. I'm trying to create a set of macro's for a group of people who basically do the same tasks day in day out. The problem I'm running into is that I'm trying to get control of entering data into a window that has no "Windows Controls", so no File/Edit/View/etc...drop down menu's from the top of the window, just built in Icon's in the app. In order to get to that Icon I've tried using mouse location, but because of monitor size and screen resolution differences, the location is on each of the desktop's, it puts the mouse on different locations for different people. End result is it either clicks on something it's not supposed to or nothing at all.

So I guess my question is can I tell it to find an Icon in the window and then click on it?

Are you moving the mouse relative to the screen, or relative to the application window? I have found that window-relative works reliably for me at different resolutions, whereas screen-relative does not -- though I don't really understand why.

Other than that, there is a Get Control command, followed by the Mouse Click on Control command, that might work. There's a little tutorial within the Help screens that leads you through the process using the Windows Calculator application as an example. It's laborious to set up because you have to do each icon separately in your macro, using the Get Control Utility. I am told it works well for some applications but not for others.

I believe that, if Get Control works for you, you can then get the text associated with the control. That might be useful to assure that you are really pointing to the correct icon before you click on it.