Macro Express Forums

Wait For Pixel Change

HeyJim

I'm having lots of trouble with wait for pixel to change color. 90% effective just isn't good enough.

It seems that the window is stable and consistent in terms of position on the screen but apparently it's, what? moving a pixel or two? To the human eye it looks like the window is always opening in exactly the same position on the screen.

About 10% of the time the macro acts like it doesn't wait for the pixel change and just rushes ahead and I lose some information. I guess because I'm brand new at this I'm even having trouble using a different pixel location. I've tried different pixel locations, screen position versus window postion, wait for "equals" and wait for "different then". Nothing much works.

Either the macro doesn't wait for my color change (when logically I don't see why it wouldn't) or it waits forever and I have to abort the macro. This is when I try to deviate from my current macro which is 90% accurate.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to whip a macro into shape that only works 90% of the time?

Currently I'm using (rough code):

Text type ENTER

Repeat until %n1% = 14215660

Get pixel: screen coords:423,379 into %N1%

Repeat end

Delay 1 second

Text type TAB

Text type ENTER, etc.

I insert the TAB which then brings the window into focus and the ENTER clicks the FINISH button so the software can move on which, coincidentally, is also where the macro loops back and I process the next line in the csv file.

The window title doesn't change, only the text in the window. The "print" is an image. Can't highlight it and copy it so can't focus on it.

The only thing I'm left with is to replace waiting for pixel change to left click mouse. I really don't want to do that but I'm not sure if I have any alternative.

Any input really appreciated.