Macro Express Forums

MacroExpress not detecting right mouse click

kistonewa

I have several macros which pause until a right click is detected. They have worked well for several months. Today they won't work. I wrote a macro that only pauses 400ms then waits for a right click then pops up a dialog box. I never make it to the dialog box. If I put a time limit on the wait, it times out every time. I tried this is several programs, including notepad, without making a difference. The ME version is 3.5.4.1. Running WinXP version 5.1 (Build 2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.080814-1233 : Service Pack 2) . This is a computer in the Emergency Department. I am a physician, and I do not have access to update any program. I don't know if there is a new Windows patch that changes things or what.

What step should I take next in troubleshooting this?

Hi Kiston,

I'm not an "expert" but I wonder if this could be something as simple as the mouse is not plugged in properly, or the batteries are dead? If it's an old mouse, maybe the mouse is dying?

It doesn't seem like this would be an issue of needing a software update (?) I guess maybe if you were using a thirdparty mouse (that didn't come with the computer) and then if someone installed some new software on the PC or the server, then maybe that could conflict with the mouse driver.... This seems unlikely though.

Do you have a middle mouse button? If that works, but the right-button doesn't then you'd know it was a faulty mouse....

Maybe the others will have better ideas ... -sk