Macro Express Forums

Wanted: ideas to help reduce typing

Hoggy

Due to a medical problem, I'm trying to reduce the amount of typing I do each day, but still get the job done.

I'm a computer programmer, so not typing isn't much of an option.

I've made some progress, I've created a macro that asks for a name and then generates a basic shell of a function. I've got another that allows me to select from a list, and it inserts a suitable 'snippet' of code. Together these save me somewhere around 5000 & more keypresses a day.

What else could I do? Do you have something similar that has worked for you? Any ideas are welcome.

Due to a medical problem, I'm trying to reduce the amount of typing I do each day, but still get the job done.

I've made some progress, I've created a macro that asks for a name and then generates a basic shell of a function. I've got another that allows me to select from a list, and it inserts a suitable 'snippet' of code. Together these save me somewhere around 5000 & more keypresses a day.

What else could I do? Do you have something similar that has worked for you? Any ideas are welcome.

Well, it will depend greatly on the sort of work you do. But the most obvious recommendation is just to do more of the same. IOW, use macros to replace frequently-typed text, whether code or data. I activate some of mine with hotkeys but the majority with shortkeys that are reasonably easy to remember. They cover a wide range of stuff, such as my email ID, PC spec, full address, various signatures for forums and newsgroups, words that I often otherwise mis-type, like 'appreciate', file paths for use in Open and Save As boxes, etc, etc.

An additional tactic could be setting up your various working environments. A hotkey or mouse click could pop-up a menu, and a click on one of its choices would open a set of applications, folders, utilities, etc, and take you to your typical start point for that particular 'work type' or task.

--

Terry, East Grinstead, UK