Macro Express Forums

Terminate Program With/Without User Intervention

tpiper

I have a timer set up that displays a reminder message for a user to close a program if they aren't using it. I have a repeat loop that contantly displays the reminder and a dialog box every few minutes. If they type yes in the dialog box then they are given more time. If they type no or hit cancel then the program closes, which is what I want.

My problem is that I also want the program to automatically close if there is no response at all, such as if they are away from their computer for long periods of time and don't respond to the dialog box.

I'm new to using Macro Express. I've tried using OR logic to terminate the program after a period of time but can't seem to get that to work. Also tried to control the cancel button in the dialog box with an automated click on the cancel button, but again didn't work. I'm sure there is a simple way to do this but can't seem to find the right way.

Any help is appreciated!

Tom

Use the If Message command. It allows you to choose the types of buttons to display, which one is the default and a Default Time Out value.

Kevin, I tried it and I can time out the the message box, but I don't see how this will terminate the program that I'm trying to close without clicking on a button. I need the macro to run such that if no button at all is clicked then the program will terminate after a certain period of time. What am I missing?

Thanks,

Tom

Hmmm, I never used this before, but I just tried it. IF MESSAGE appears to return a boolean true/false value.

IF MESSAGE:XXXX

TEXT BOX DISPLAY: YES WAS SELECTED

ELSE

TEXT BOX DISPLAY: NO WAS SELECTED

END IF

Whatever you specify as default is the highlighted button on the display, and is also the boolean value returned on timeout. So in your case maybe this would work:

IF MESSAGE:Are you still using the application? [with delay time of x minutes]

[DO NOTHING, LEAVE THE APPLICATION RUNNING]

ELSE