Macro Express Forums

Time since stamp

randallf

Hello!

I have been writing macros for awhile, some of them have to do with time. Anything I have written for time is a MONSTER of a function for something that I feel should be much simpler...

Here is my timestamp:

04/08/2009 09:23:43 AM

I need to be able to just grab that stamp and tell numerically how many hours have passed since that time.

I have at least two functions that I think will acomplish the task but after reading a lot of others work (and because I generally am self-taught with nobody to compare notes with locally) I think that there are probably better ways.

So, most divine ME3 gurus: What is the best way to tell how many hours and minutes have passed since 04/08/2009 09:23:43 AM using ME3?

-Rand

As an afterthought since I am already using excel to track some of this data I may just use an excel formula to do this rather than ME.

That may actually be best. ME Pro has a grander Date/Time functionality, and even it is tragically lacking in this department. However, Cory (regular poster and serious macro genius) knows a lot about Date/Time calculations in ME, and he has some work-around information he could get you... but it would be for use with ME Pro rather than ME 3.

• 5 weeks later...
As an afterthought since I am already using excel to track some of this data I may just use an excel formula to do this rather than ME.

If your going to use excel you would need to do the following:

Create a cell with this Function

=now()

Using both the time stamp and that function cell, create two cell that multiply them by 24 (puts those times into hours)

=A1*24

=A2*24

Then the difference between the Now() cell and the time stamp will be in hours.

You can make this easily into days, minutes and seconds as well.

Days: Remove *24 mulitplication

Minutes: Use A1*24*60

Seconds: Use A1*24*60*60

I attached a screen shot to show this better.

post-4204-1241888648_thumb.jpg

post-4204-1241888655_thumb.jpg