itchymonkey

hi,

i'm very new to macro express.

would like to ask

If i have 10 files in a folder.

one.xls

two.xls

three.xls..... so on

I would like to find a way to repeat the process (using excel to open):- to open the 1st file and type some text, save, continue with the 2nd file. (i wan the mouse to know which file i have copied and continue the next one till all files have been done.)

Thanks in advance for any help.

hi,

i'm very new to macro express.

would like to ask

If i have 10 files in a folder.

one.xls

two.xls

three.xls..... so on

I would like to find a way to repeat the process (using excel to open):- to open the 1st file and type some text, save, continue with the 2nd file. (i wan the mouse to know which file i have copied and continue the next one till all files have been done.)

Thanks in advance for any help.

Opening an .xls and typing into it is a pain. There is a much easier way to do what you are trying to do, through the Text File Process and/or ASCII File Process commands.

I recommend reading the Help files for these items. Also, if you haven't already done so, download the Samples.mex file from the Macro Express website (it should actually have been included automatically when you downloaded Macro Express), and run Process text file as well as Process a CSV delimited file to see how these macros work. I'd also suggest picking those macros apart (as well as any of the other sample macros) in order to get a really good idea of how Macro Express macros work, and how to build your own.

If you run into any trouble, which can happen easily enough when you're first starting out, we're happy to help in this forum. We just need more details about exactly what it is you are trying to do. If you can give examples, and even post some of the code you've already written so we know where you are in the process, it can really help us to help you.