Macro Express Forums

Global Search/Replace

I just upgraded from QuickBooks 2007 to 2010 and have about 60 macros that have the window title "Quickbooks 2007" embedded in them. I'd like to change them all to "QuickBooks 2010".

Is there some combination of import/export or some other kind of global search/replace I can use to fix everything all at once?

I just upgraded from QuickBooks 2007 to 2010 and have about 60 macros that have the window title "Quickbooks 2007" embedded in them. I'd like to change them all to "QuickBooks 2010".

Is there some combination of import/export or some other kind of global search/replace I can use to fix everything all at once?

I'd personally first try a hex editor like Hex Workshop from http://www.bpsoft.com/downloads/

I'm no programmer but I've successfully used its Replace facility on MEX in similar situations. The crucial requirement appears to be that the Find and Replace strings should be identical in length. Happily that's true in your proposed case. (I'm sure someone more familiar with binary files could do it with unequal strings too. I'd appreciate a primer if so!)

I suspect it's confidential, but if not you could alternatively email the MEX to terrypin@dial.pipex.com and I'll send you a revised version to try.

--

Terry, East Grinstead, UK

I put this issue in a request for feature to ISS. It's ugly right now. I have some macros that will go through all the macros in a macro file and do "search and replace" or "find and announce for edit". Unfortunately they are very ugly* to use and time-consuming since the Script Editor is needed for every macro. The Find is particularly annoying because you get the System "clunk" every time a string is not found (I can't turn down the volume since I have other sounds for "found" and "done").

* by ugly I mean time-wise and the macro uses the ME shortcuts Alt+S and Ctr+F4 so you have to ensure no macros in the macro file being edited use those as hotkeys.