Macro Express Forums

Can a variable/wildcard be used in a Control's Info/Details?

Running ME 3.5.5.2 on XP and having an issue with Controls with the program: "HP Service Manager" AKA HPSM (the locally installed client, not the web client).

I've been using ME for three years now and have been very successful with the use of Controls in various applications. In general, most applications have two or more controls for a given field, button, etc., and working with Cory a few years ago I can up with a handy little way of taking all of those different controls in to account by using: (see: http://pgmacros.invisionzone.com/index.php...amp;#entry10965)

Get Control C1 (1)

If NOT Control C1 Enabled

Get Control C1 (2)

End If

Various ticketing programs, websites, Outlook, Excel, to name a few, all have worked using this method. But HPSM has been giving me trouble as a given Control's Indexing changes depending on how many tickets are currently open in the client, what position they are in, and what order they are in (they are each their own tab within the same parent window). For example: if you have three tickets open and close the one on the far right, the Control Indexes for the one that is NOW on the far right (which was previously second from the right) change to the base (1st) index and all of the other change.

Far Right Window:

JAVAW.EXE

HP Service Manager - [sWT_Window0]

SWT_Window0 - [index 19]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 2]

SWT_Window0 - [index 5]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

Second from the right:

JAVAW.EXE

HP Service Manager - [sWT_Window0]

SWT_Window0 - [index 19]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 137]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]

SWT_Window0 - [index 2]

SWT_Window0 - [index 5]

SWT_Window0 - [index 1]