Macro Express Forums

Quick question

nastorrian

Hey guys im new to this. Got it set up pretty well but i cant figure out how to make my macro work then shut off.

Here is what i have. I have a macro that repeats none stop. I need it to turn off at like 3:55am and turn back on at 5:30am and run allday till 3:55am again. I trued the shedual part and changing up the times and man i dont know why but its not working. I mean it just runs none stop just wont shut off then back on when i want it to. SHould be easy enough for you guys. Thanks

Nast

Scheduling a macro is related to starting, not stopping. Using the Scheduler "Other" setting will not turn anything off. You can start the macro on a Daily schedule for 5.30am. If the macro does not stop itself by reaching its end, then you have to provide commands to do it. I can see two methods:

In a Repeat loop, compare the current time with the time you want to stop (3.55am). When the times are equal stop the macro. "Date and Time" is more flexible but Variable Set Integer to Hour/Minute should be fine too because it's already Integer. ME uses 24 hour clock for this function so the hour being 3 must be morning. Remember, it's going to be turned off the next day but that is not a problem. Compare using (If hour=3 and minutes equal or greater than 55) in case there is a chance the macro may be busy at 3.55. Adding a Repeat may be difficult. If there is an existing loop that has to be used, you may not be able to look at the time every minute or less.

The second method is if the macro starts things running and can then can wait a time delay (Delay or Timed Delay or Wait Time Elapse) until 5.30am. The Delay uses more CPU. The Timed Delay and Wait Time Elapse uses very little CPU but cannot be stopped until the end of the time without a reboot.

I've not used this type of schedule other than the second method for a max of 3 hours. Both the above methods prevent any other macros running during the period.