Macro Express Forums

Dates

cyberchief

Ok... this is a little hard to follow... I am just beginning to research this problem. I thought I would throw this out there for the general populace to hash over and see if they come up with anything.

I am creating an order that must have a specific due date depending on a couple variable dates. The order is to combine 2 accounts. Each account has a bill date. I need to write an order. The due date of the order cannot be 3 days prior to either account's bill date nor can it be within 5 days of after either account's bill date. Using today's date out 2 (2 days from today), I need to compare that date and see if it falls within either of the 2 accounts billing cycle (the 3 days prior and 5 days after). Both accounts may have different billing cycle dates.

Example1:

Account1 has a billing date of May 15th. Therefore, May 12th through May 20th is out of the question.

Account2 has a billing date of May 1st. Therefore, April 28th through May 6th is out of the question.

Todays date is May 4th. 2 days out from today is the 6th, so I cannot use that. I would need the variable to chose the next available date which would be May 7th.

Example 2:

Account1 has a billing date of May 15th. Therefore, May 12th through May 20th is out of the question.

Account2 has a billing date of May 9th. Therefore, May 6th through May 14thth is out of the question.

Since bill dates are closer together... I cannot use May 6th through May 20th.

Todays date is May 4th. 2 days out from today is the 6th, so I cannot use that. I would need the variable to chose the next available date which would be 21st.

Am I SOL?

Clearly it would be best to use PGmacros if possible; perhaps Kevin has some ideas; using my macros may work but hard to follow, reproduce or fix!

Here's the logic, though!

// Date calculator (AVOID CERTAIN DATES); needs date set as "yyyyMMddhhnnsszzz", though for dates "yyyyMMdd000000000"

Repeat Start (Repeat 2 times)