Macro Express Forums

Extract random data/lines from text tile and append to a text string

Hello all,

I have a rather simple task; however, I'm new to MEP and could not find a specific reference to this need within help in the program, the first 15 pages of this forum or anywhere else :(. Just need a nudge in the right direction for which commands/variables to use...

I need to extract a random value from a text file with 100 or so entries (which will vary) and append it to a text string I want to use for a separate purpose. The text file contains all integers that range from 1 to 10000 (and will change on a regular basis). Say the first 5 lines of the file are 37, 112, 156, 256, 423. There are 100+ such entries. I need to pull repeadly one value at random constantly changing and append it to a string. Text file process? Ugh. Thanks in advance for any guidance you could provide :).

Hi Jax and welcome to the forum.

If you want to avoid the Text/ASCII File Processing commands for the time being, then here's one approach. It's fairly crude but hopefully its logic is clear enough for you to build on.

There are some vague aspects of your description so note my embedded assumptions. In particular note the change you'll need to make in the very first command. And of course the origin and location of your unnamed 'text file' is unspecified. I created my own file with an arbitrary 101 lines, starting with the 5 numbers you gave as examples and then random in the range 1 to 10000. Note that although my file is in random order, there's no need for that to be so. Choosing a line at random gives you all the randomness you need. (Apart from any pysychological effect you might be seeking!) So I could have sorted it into order, which would perhaps make examining its contents easier.

Script: