Macro Express Forums

Reading Variables from a text file

chappyware

I'm new to ME variables so please don't jump on me if this is a stupid question. I have a text file with each line being a person's name. I want to use a macro to type that name into a application I use. I know how to do that for a literal but reading up I think the VARIABLE FROM FILE reads in the whole file as a single variable.

1. Is that assumption true?

2. If so, how do I get T1,T2,T3,T4...T99 to each be a name from the sequence? There is a CR after each name.

ANY help would be greatly appreciated. I have the rest of the macro done but I have no idea how to change the value of the variable or how to assign each line to a new variable (I suppose redefining T1 with a new name would be more efficient-can that be done?????)

Thank yo SO much for any assistance.

Jan

• 1 year later...

I've got a problem with this type of function.....

Big picture, I just want to pull individual variables from each line in the CSV and then have them treated as individual variables unique to only one line in the CSV.

I've read every help file I can find, I've read every forum post that I can find, I bought a book on macro express, I bought macro express pro...I'm days and days into trying to figure this out with no luck.

Originally, when I have a CSV file, it might look like this:

Thinger1, Dinky1, Ferbix1

Thinger2, Dinky2, Ferbix2

Thinger3, Dinky3, Ferbix3

Thinger4, Dinky4, Ferbix4

I'll then process the ASCII file starting with variable T1

T1 will then contain:

Thinger1

Thinger2

Thinger3

Thinger4

But instead, I JUST want it to contain:

Thinger1

I then attempted to use the split string function to separate Line 1 (Thinger1, Dinky1, Ferbix1) into individual elements with a new variable that I created:

Variable1: Thinger1

Variable2: Dinky1

Variable3: Ferbix1