Macro Express Forums

Jump Back To Earlier Part Of Macro/end A Process

tibolt1

I’m new to Macro Express but am finding it an amazing program.

Two quick questions – probably very basic to you. (I’ve checked the knowledge base and searched the forum but haven’t found an answer)

a) How to I get a macro to jump back to an earlier part of the macro and

B) How do I get it to stop processing a variable length file?

Let me explain.

I have a macro that takes a name from a list in document A and searches document B for a match. If it finds a match it enters a piece of text after the name (in document B), goes back to document A, and deletes the name there. It then selects the next name on the list and runs the routine again. I use ‘Start Repeat’ and ‘End Repeat’ to run the routine 30 times.

If the macro doesn’t find a match, I want it to go back to document A and not delete the name but select the next name (so that when the process finishes, document A will contain a list of unmatched cases.) Where there’s no match, I can get the macro to go back to document A and move down to the next name (using an If statement), but how do I get the macro to start running again from the start ( actually from line 3).

To put it another way how do I put a flag or label at line 3, so that when the macro finishes processing the IF statement it pops back up to the flag/label and continues executing the macro from there.

2nd issue – document B may have a different number of names in it , every time the macro is run. How do I get a macro to stop running when it comes to the end of the list (or a document for that matter)?

I hope you don't mention variables, as I haven't really got my head around them yet.

Thanks in advance for your reply. I appreciate it.

T.