Macro Express Forums

Global text replacement inside MEX files?

A hundred or so of my macros contain text like this, such as in TextType and Program Launch commands, etc:

C:\Docs\Sundry\FolderABC\filexyz.txt

I've just reorganised my HD. All subfolders of \Sundry\ have been moved up the tree to \Docs\. So that text above has to be changed to

C:\Docs\FolderABC\filexyz.txt

One extremely tedious way of doing it would be to identify all those macros (itself not a trivial task as I have over a thousand, in about 70 categories, and these particular ones can occur just about anywhere) and then open each one individually, locate the command(s), and change them manually, re-saving the macro.

I thought I'd found a smart way instead. I opened the MEX file in my rarely used hex editor (Hex Editor Workshop). Then I used its Replace facility in this dialog:

MEPro-GlobalReplace-1.jpg

I'm not a programmer or 'techie' so initially I didn't checkmark that option 'Pad with Nulls'. Presumably the new file was therefore a different size to the original, apparently verboten in the world of Hex.

This is what Help says:

"The Replace Utility allows for different sized search and replace strings, and has a Replace All option. In addition, the Replace Utility offers an option to "Pad String with Nulls" when replacing ASCII. This is useful if you are replacing a string with a shorter string and with to leave the file size intact. The replace string will be padded with NULL chars until it is equal in size to the search string, before substituted."

So I ended up with an MEX that ME Pro regarded as corrupted. But re-trying with that option duly checkmarked all seemed well, the edited MEX opened and all my macros appeared intact. But on testing some of them I was disappointed to find that all entries like

C:\Docs\Sundry\FolderABC\\filexyz.txt

were now like this:

C:\Docs\

All the rest had vanished.