Macro Express Forums

PaintShop Pro image windows

Anyone else use PaintShop Pro please? Mine is an old version, PSP 8, but this issue probably applies to more recent ones.

ME Pro seems unable to access its image windows. They don't appear in the list of windows when using Specify a window. (Including Hidden windows, at least not under the name shown in their title bar.) So I cannot work with them or extract information (position, width, etc) in the familiar way.

PSP8-AccessingImageWindows.jpg

--
Terry, East Grinstead, UK

I don't use PSP but I do know that MDI (Multi Document Interface) windows will not be apparent to MEP the same as all apps. Only the parent window will be. And sometimes this is confusing because the child windows can sometimes venture out of the main window.

As an aside it sounds like you're a photog and are using MEP to automate post-processing. If that's the case I recommend Adobe Lightroom. I've been learning it now for a few months and it's workflow is amazing. All the things one wants to automate with an editing app like PSP or Photoshop are all done for you. And managing the library is really amazing. Import is awesome too as you can define custom processing steps and they execute automatically on import. For instance I always want to compensate for lens spherical and chromatic aberration and it does it on import. Also it knows what the correction values are based on my camera, lens and even the focal length specified in the photos metadata. Amazingly powerful. Just about everything one wants to do in post. It's not PS so you can't do something like put your bosses head on a donkey but it does have touchup tools to remove facial blemishes and such. Basically all the things you really need for photography.