Macro Express Forums

How to bring a Chrome Tab into Focus

I’m new to Macro Express – please be gentle!

PROBLEM

How can I bring a particular Chrome Tab into Focus so that I can use it.

ANALYSIS

I am using - Windows 10 - Chrome - Macro Express Pro – two screens

On my First screen I have an Excel list of Part Numbers

On my second screen I have 10 Chrome tabs and I need to bring the second Tab (called ‘Parts’) into Focus so that I can paste a part number and then ‘Enter’.

When the ‘Parts’ tab is - in Focus / Active / the top Tab – the macro works ok

BUT when another Tab (say Accounts) is - in Focus / Active / the top Tab – I can’t get the Macro to work. The Parts Tab IS NOT brought in to Focus / Active / the top Tab.

I have tried various combinations of ‘Window Activate’, ‘Window Maximize’, ‘Window Restore’, ‘Window Show’ to no avail.

Note: When another Tab (say Accounts) is - in Focus / Active / the top Tab – and I try to use the ‘Window Activate’ command - the Tab that I need (say Parts) IS NOT shown in the ‘Windows Title’ list.  Is this part of my problem?

SOLUTION

I’m obviously missing something - I’d be very grateful for some help with this.

Mike

Look up keyboard shortcuts for Chrome.  When I Googled "keyboard shortcut to switch to a specific Chrome tab", I found that Ctrl-1 activates the first tab, Ctrl-2 activates the second, and so on.  So if your Parts tab is always the second one, instead of doing "Window Activate", use the Text Type command to "type" Ctrl-2.  Of course Chrome itself will have to be in focus to accept the keystrokes.  I don't know for sure that this will work for you, but it's worth a try. 

Hello Mike.