Macro Express Forums

Text Type (Simulate Keystrokes) suddenly causing problems in Google Calendar

I have been using Macro Express Pro for many years.  Just today, all of a sudden, a glaring problem has arisen that I have never seen before.  I use ME Pro to fill in data in new calendar events in Google Calendar.  The script I made tabs between fields (by Text Typing the Tab command), copying data and then tabbing down to the description field to paste the data into that field.  What has just started happening is that when the script attempts to tab into the "End Time" field, the field starts flashing like crazy and locks up.  If I tab into the field manually, it works perfectly.  It's only when the ME script tries to tab into that field that it freaks out.  Any suggestions?  It started doing this in ME 4, so I upgraded this morning to ME 6.   Still has the problem.

Thanks for any help.

- Lyle Wood

Edited by lylewood
Clarity

• lylewood changed the title to Text Type (Simulate Keystrokes) suddenly causing problems in Google Calendar

Macro Express scripts that interact with web content can be thrown off by changes at the code level. So if the developers of Google Calendar made a single, minor, behind-the-scenes amendment, your script may no longer work reliably.

It happens all the time. Fixing these kinds of problems comes with the territory. I've been forced to rewrite my MEP scripts for Hotmail (now rebranded Outlook.com) more times than I can count. The last time Microsoft "improved" the user interface, I was forced to start entirely from scratch. I tinkered with my new scripts for weeks before they were working reliably. Then I switched from Windows 7 to Windows 10, and instantly, half the scripts failed!