Macro Express Forums

Repeat keeps entering only the first line over and over

Hi guys,

This is my first time Macroing. I'm trying to make a simple macro that clicks part of a website then enters data from a CSV file into the text box that opens, then enter is pressed and the website updates itself. Then it repeats until all records in the csv are inserted. 

My issue is when I test the macro it keeps entering the first line record and doesn't move onto the second one. Does anyone know why? Also is there a way to make it so the macro stops after all the records are entered?  thank you in advance

Names.mex

Hi Jim,

It would be easier to help if we had your CSV file and the URL (or simplifed non-confidential examples) , and also a much fuller explanation of the task.

Are you copying each record of your CSV file into an identical location of successive different web pages? If so, where are the commands that open subsequent pages? Or, are there just two records in the CSV file, copied to two text fields of the web page? Or two fields in each record?

It also looks like you're using integer variable %C% but I don't see where it gets incremented?

And is your macro deliberately simplified to a mere two repetitions of the main loop?

I don't follow your logic. Could you spell out in full the sequence of events you want to emulate please? Amongst other things perhaps you're not adding an empty line between the two records, so overwriting the first. (Although you say it's the second you're seeing?)

Are you trying to use the variable T as an array? If so you have not defined it as such.

I'd recommend you tidy up your draft recorded macro by replacing those arbitrary delays, say with

Delay: 0.1 seconds