Macro Express Forums

Sudden notification problem

Grappling with an issue I've never had before and looking for any insights please.

While running a normally reliable macro I suddenly started getting an unstoppable succession of notifications:
"Macro Express Pro
An event was logged"

MX-Logged.jpg?raw=1

Had to use Task Mgr to terminate.

I went to Win 10 Settings > Notifications & Actions > 'Get notifications from these apps', in order to disable them, but there is no entry for Macro Express Pro.

NotificationsProblem.jpg?raw=1

Thanks both. I'm a novice about error logging so currently struggling. When I've studied some of the basics I'll no doubt be back here for help! Meanwhile the logs and their contents offer no enlightenment.

Given that I've had many log reports, I can't fathom why this sudden display. Perhaps some change in Win 10 security settings following my update from 1909 to 20H2, but so far can't identify a likely culprit.

Do you both include error log commands in your macros? I see that rberq does, and recall that Cory does too.

Alan: What did you do after getting the notification? Did the log help you discover a problem with a macro? And was it the first time, you'd ever seen that message, as in my case? If so do you suspect any particular cause?

56 minutes ago, terrypin said:

Alan: What did you do after getting the notification? Did the log help you discover a problem with a macro? And was it the first time, you'd ever seen that message, as in my case? If so do you suspect any particular cause?

Hi Terry, I've been ignoring the notifications, and I haven't tried to chase down the source as Macro Express has continued to work. My sense is that the notifications are associated with certain scripts, but I'm not sure.

I first noticed these notifications a couple of weeks ago. Next time it happens, I'll check further and report back.