Macro Express Forums

Which programming language is most similar to Macro Express?

I am not a programmer, but I want to learn.  I've used Macro Express for years, and find it essential every day.

Of all the programming languages out there, I would like to start learning one that is most similar to Macro Express.  I feel that way I can more smoothly transition, and possibly do things that I can't with Macro Express alone.  Or if/when Macro Express for some reason stops being developed.

Would greatly appreciate hearing your thoughts on the matter.

Thanks,

Nicholas Kormanik

There's nothing that I know of like MEP.

Python is considered the easiest and most readable of the modern object-oriented languages. I have not written anything in it but one of the criticisms is that it's a little too easy and facilitates sloppy code by allowing les strict typing and rules. So the "easy' is a double edge sword. There's tons of free training and swarms of people who use it.

When I decided I wanted to amend my skills, I looked around and elected to learn VB.NET. It's uses the same framework, IDE (Visual Studio) and all that is the same as the other big languages like C#, but I find much more readable. Also I used to write some MS Office macros and so I liked that VB.NET is similar to VBA and VBScript. 

However it has now been deprecated. MS will continue to support it but they have stopped developing it. However it's not likely that I will ever need any of those improvements in the remainder of my career. But I am considering learning C#. For the kinds of things I do it's the most common and best language that MS has to offer. 

I agree with Cory. Macro Express is unique. There's not much like it. Maybe there's nothing like it.

I don't think of the Macro Express "language" as simple. One of strengths of Macro Express is that its user interface is relatively straightforward, which contributes toward its ease-of-use.