Macro Express Forums

Timed Macro Madness Or Other Suggestions?

Dean

Giday..

I have some pesky PVR software that locks up if I record with TimeShift mode longer than 6 hours.

(it's a bug with the software)

Timeshift lets you start playing back video from the PVR software while still recording the end of the show.

Anyway.. my PVR software uses 'Alt+r' to start timeshift recording and 'Alt+s' to stop timeshift recording.

I want a macro that when timeshift recording starts, that it won't allow for a recording longer than 6 hours.. BUT I want to be able to abort out of that macro if nesessary.

Is their a way to have a timed macro, but abort out of when another macro is run, and while this is all going on.. have any other macro's also still work.

I understand this would involve use of Logic comands?

Unfortunately the format 'logic' and my brain are not good companions. (grin)

I wonder if someone could advise total newbie how best to achieve the above?.

I found the 'Timed' commands, and both timed delay and timed lapse work, but I don't know how to break out of the macro in progress, and all my other macros stop working while the time delay/lapse is running.

I realise this is by design, but wonder what the correct way of doing this is?

eg. For what I wish to do with the PVR timeshift record limit.. the following script works, but obviously hangs MacroExpress until the timed period is over.

Text Type: <alt>r

Wait Time Lapse: 360 Minutes 0 Seconds

Text Type: <alt>s

Is it possible to add the ability to the above script to end the macro if another macro is run containing 'Text Type: <alt>s' ?

..Deano..

hi,

i'm new too!

? try;

1. macro1 to start recorder and write time file to finish at.. "recordtime.txt"

2. macro2 to check the file every 10 mins/ 10secs etc depending how critical (see the answer tomy question about starting program on another computer last week)

3. macro3 to change the txt file to abort early, or just "alt-s" or whatever