Macro Express Forums

Using Macro Express with Content Management Software

Hi-

I need some help I have been working for months now on a project to write a Macro that will complete all the monotonous and repetitive button-pushing steps to our CMS platform.

Everytime I think I have it all sorted it and it runs perfectly, the next time I run it the Macro acts erractically. It will start out okay and then halfway through it navigates incorrectly.

I am using Text Type finds to "activate" the text links on the page and to put in the copied and pasted text I need.

The problem I think is that our CMS has erractic lag times...and has become increasingly unstable so that I need to have error logs.

I've used wait for window commands and delays and loops and nothing seems to get the job done satisfactorily each and every time.

I am new at Macros but this was suggested to me to help with the carpal tunnel I experience everytime I have to hit Save and confirm on each of the 26 steps...and heaven forbid that someone wants to change something.

Thanks in advance to any direction you can provide!

Welcome to the sticky spot. I think most users start by creating simple keystroke recorded macros and get very excited. However when one tries to take it to the next level and need something reliable timing becomes a huge issue. I don't know exactly what your problem is so I can only give general advice.