Macro Express Forums

Adding user entered dates to an existing dataentry script to batch transactions through a repeat loop -- Looking for ideas on methods

I have been using Macro Express for almost two decades now and have been very pleased.  We have a set of scripts that automate a date based series of data entry.  Today the script requires the user to enter the date and a couple of other variables.  These are then used to calculate other values and look up values based upon a matrix.  The script takes about 30 seconds per transaction to calculate and then cycle through the half dozen screens of a legacy application entering the values in various fields based upon the decision tree.

We are looking to modify the script to accept a list of user entered dates to then drive a repeat loop through this existing script.  Adding this batching will greatly enhance the utility of the script.

We assume it will be using the "repeat with variable" function combined with the "date" variable.  I am looking for ideas on how to do this.

Some important notes.  The dates are not linear so its not just simply a start date, end date and then an iteration or offset between them.  The dates could be bi-weekly, twice monthly or once a month depending upon arrangement.  If the date falls on a weekend or holiday, it moves forward to the next working day.  We have another job that can create the date list already to be systemically consumed or manually entered

Different solutions could be

- Allow the user to copy paste the list of dates into a dialogue prompt and then systematically know to repeat one line per date entered (or have the user enter another variable with the number of dates to drive the repeat loop.)

- It could be a comma (or other delimited set of values) entered into a field and then string parsed.  (or could even say repeat nine times and the user would be responsible for entering 10 dates.).