Macro Express Forums

Detect When Ok Appears And Has Focus Or Error

dgr7

hello,

I'm new to Macro Express and have run into my first problem with a macro I created last week that had been doing well until today. I've run into a situation where I need to implement some IF type of structure in the macro to detect when in the window I'm sending keystrokes to either:

>>a Warning windows appears inside the window (not as a separate window that the OS can see (not seen with Alt-Tab) and the Window title doesn't change any when this Warning appears or I'd just use some Detect when Warning window exists logic) that has a title of Warning, a Exclamation point graphic, text of That Entry is Not Defined, and a OK button to click which has focus when it appears, and if you send any other keystroke it's ignored, you can send only O or (enter) to make the Warning box go away

>>an Win XP Critical Stop error occurs when the Warning window appears and the associated .wav file is played

I've read through the ME help file and various forum postings and have had no luck as finding how to implement an IF statement that could detect either of the two above situations. I think the best route would be detection of the OK button appearing, but I'll take anything that'll work 100%!!

Can someone help me with the ME If statement syntax?

Thanks in advance,

david

Sure, it's simple. At least for the first one. Almost all buttons and objects in Windows are controls and ME makes good use of these. In this case I would use an "If Control" with something like the "Visible" option. It's hard to say without seeing your application exactly which would be the best.