Macro Express Forums

Direct editing of Macro files

For some dumb reason I thought one could actually edit a MEX file directly with a hext/text editor. Can someone confirm that this can not be done?

I have a zillion registry commands that point to the miscellaneous key in the registry under Macro Express and I'm converting to MEP and will doing a mass roll out. Guess what, the registry key changed and i have to change them all. D'oh!

For some dumb reason I thought one could actually edit a MEX file directly with a hext/text editor. Can someone confirm that this can not be done?

I have a zillion registry commands that point to the miscellaneous key in the registry under Macro Express and I'm converting to MEP and will doing a mass roll out. Guess what, the registry key changed and i have to change them all. D'oh!

Can't remember the details but I tried it once and it failed. I'm no programmer, but I recall from subsequent research that it was probably because the size of my 'Replace' was different to my 'Find'. Hang on, I'll test it ...

Yep, I just tried changing a single character and that worked OK. ME Pro opened OK and all 3 occurrences had been changed. (I changed the name of a macro, from '4 Volume Curve markers' to '4 Volume Kurve markers'.)

So if you're lucky and the new key happens to be the same length it should work without fuss. But I expect that unlike me you know your way around hex editing, so you can probably do it with any size of text replacement, by altering other obscure stuff like 'checksums' etc.

--

Terry, East Grinstead, UK

The .mex file format is a binary format. If you edit it you will more than likely damage it. As Terry points out, however, you might be able to get away with simple changes such as changing a drive letter from C: to D:.

Do you use variables as constants? I like to set variables at the top of my macros that contain constants such as file paths and registry keys. This makes them easier to modify later.